It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Although Distinguishing between right and wrong for children at an early age is crucial, parents and teachers play a vital role to teach them, and they must know how to behave with their children in different situations. I agree with this opinion that parents and teachers should choose an appropriate way to punish them if necessary, but they should be careful about the type of punishment they would choose.

First of all, children at early age unable to identify what behaviour is right or not, so they try to observe their parents’ behaviour to learn how to behave whereas in some cases they behave instinctively, which is causing the wrong decision for them. For example, screaming is a normal action when they do not agree with a situation; therefore, parents want to control the situation by punishing them. Parents would choose punishment as a tool for bringing up their children and teaching them how to conduct themselves. Hence, choosing the correct punishments is vital for parents and teachers because it will shape children’s behaviour in the future and put them on the right path.

From a psychological standpoint, corporal punishment is the worst options for parents to teach children how to recognize right and wrong. Punishment should be constructive in nature to penalize the wrong behaviour instead of being destructive. In other words, some actions would bring negative impacts on the physical and psychological development of the children rather than helping to realize the mistake. To exemplify, when a parent or a teacher beats the child of misbehaviour, it would harm their body and would bring emotional pressure, stress and nervousness. Instead of physical punishment, parents could deprive children’s favourite activity for a while.

In conclusion, understanding the difference between what is good and bad for children is a must. Punishments not only have not a detrimental effect but also would have a positive effect in their future as long as the punishment is constructive.