It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

In this modern world, children, with the access to the latest technologies, are smarter than before. Nowadays, they have the understanding the world and can make their decisions on their own. However, some conservative parents still think that children should discuss their every move with them and before being decisive. This essay will discuss the subject of children’s decision making abilities and will produce a result as per my understanding of the matter.

Firstly, with the accessibility to the internet and social media, youngsters come across various types of content and some of it may be darker such as pornography. A youth from a conservative family usually will find such content as interesting as these things were never discussed with him. However, another youth from a family with a broader mindset will understand the detrimental effects of such content on their mental health. Hence, it becomes very important for the parents to share the proper knowledge of the subject before, let the children to have their own opinions. Moreover, children should be encouraged to make inquiries about anything, they are confused with.

Next, youngsters have curious and creative mindsets and to develop their decision making abilities, it becomes crucial to encourage them to be decided at the young age. However, parents should ensure that their decisions are wise and as per the situation. If they feel that something is amiss; they should share a proper feedback.

Lastly, as per a research conducted by BCA University, people with the right decision making abilities are more likely to be successful than those brilliant people who cannot execute their ideas. This study also shows the impacts of this skill on our daily lives with illustrations.

In essence, children should be encouraged to make their own decisions, so that they could develop themselves to take stronger decisions later in their competitive lives. In my opinion, parents should also ensure that children are making the right decisions and if they aren’t, feedbacks and various steps of the decision making process should be shared with them.