Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both view and give your own op

In this era of technological advancements, children spend most of their spare time playing video games or on social media. Not getting involved in any physical activity or going out starts to take its toll on youngsters’ bodies as well as on their minds in the long run. Understanding these detrimental effects, some parents motivate their offspring to get involved in group activities such as summer camp, etc. in their leisure time. While some may be in agreement with this thought, others may contradict and advocate giving space to the children so that they could engage themselves in their favorite activities.

Firstly, the fact that children spend more time on computers than getting involved in outdoor activities cannot be denied. In such scenarios, it becomes significant for the parents to involve youngsters forcefully in outdoor activities. That way, parents can also keep an eye on them, and children get a chance to socialize with others and to make new friends outside the virtual world.

Next, though the internet and various types of gadgets have become a crucial part of some children’s lives, we can argue that some children are still untouched by these worldly things and like to spend their free time doing different learning activities. They have an introvert nature and prefer to keep their businesses to themselves. They find no joy in group activities and become miserable if forced to participate. Hence, such children should be given the choice to spend their time the way they like.

Lastly, not all children’s nature is alike. While some of them may be introverts and prefer to spend their leisure time with their close friends, others may be extroverts and may like to attend social gatherings and activities. In both cases, parents should ensure to be not intrusive beyond a limit and respect their privacy.

In essence, though children should be motivated to participate in group activities and socialize, they shouldn’t be forced to do this. In my opinion, youngsters should be handled as per their preferences and extreme measures should be taken only in the case of rigidness. They should be given choices to spend their free time the way they like but regular checks also should be kept in order to know if they are involved in productive activities or just killing their time by doing insignificant things.