It is observed that shopping on the internet is increasing in its popularity Why is it so Is it a good or bad development

In today’s world, with the advent of technology, the acceptance of online shopping is rapidly increasing day-by-day. As every coin has two sides, even this development has its own merits and demerits. In this essay, I will discuss why buying products via the internet has gained popularity and its pros and cons of development in modern society.

To commence with, the three main reasons for the vogue of e-commerce among the general public. The first and foremost is that people want to stay at home, and they can order anything with the help of the internet because online shopping can be done anywhere at any time around the world. Secondly, e-commerce gives a wide range of options to explore the products of our interest whereas commercial market shops have limited options available. Thirdly, some of the e-commerce websites offer cash delivery options. Consequently, consumers are not worried about sharing the details of credit cards online. Finally, the reduction of traffic congestion on roads and overcrowding in shopping malls. Therefore, in my view, shopping online is a spectacular development that has provided an enormous amount of benefits to consumers.

As every sword has two edges, we cannot deny the problems of online shopping. Chiefly, sometimes the quality of a product as mentioned online was not fulfill by some of the manufacturers as they only want to make money instead of selling good quality items online. However, this problem has been solved by e-commerce companies by providing feedback options and returning policy options on each product that is listed on their websites. Moreover, people have become shopping maniacs due to the large number of options available on the internet which have been a drawback for them to spend long hours on the internet.

To recapitulate, in my opinion, the rising demand for shopping on the internet is a good development for society.