It’s good to have English as a global language. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Explain your reasons and include relevant examples from your own experience.

It is argued by many that English should be adapted as a global language worldwide. Whereas, many have contrary viewpoint and do not support this opinion. However, this change might bring many positive and negative outcomes, but I believe, its advantages would outweigh its disadvantages. Hence, promoting English language as a global language would be beneficial.

There are enormous benefits if English would be considered as a global language. Firstly, it would help to minimize the discrimination on the basis of language. Secondly, it would provide a platform to communicate with the people of another culture and language without any confusion. For example, while working abroad, many people find it difficult to mingle with local communities due to language barrier. Hence, such development would help them to interact with local residents more efficiently. Finally, domination of the English language is clearly visible on technology, thus, people who are deprived of using technology due to language issue would be able to use technology without any obstacle.

Nonetheless, if English becomes a global language, then it may bring many drawbacks along. The biggest threat is an extinction of local languages and negative impact on local culture and communities. For example, in India, most schools are English medium and teaching students all the subjects in English language. As a result, many children are not able to communicate in their native language and loosing respect towards their culture. Moreover, non-English speaking nations would be widely affected and might face serious consequences if such change occur. Furthermore, for many people it's tough to learn English language or become linguistic, hence, it would be another big challenge for them to acquire a new language.

To conclude, in my opinion, although by making English as an International language would be advantageous but at the same time, it might create unavoidable circumstances to deal with. Therefore, before implementing such changes it is essential to address the challenges and take necessary measures to make it convenient for general mass.