It’s good to have English as a global language. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Explain your reasons and include relevant examples from your own experience.

It is often argued that the acquisition of an international language across different countries may progressively put national one on the verge of extinction. Personally, I disagree entirely with this idea, and I will discuss the reasons in this essay.

To begin with, there are several explanations why the prevalence of a universal language cannot replace the mother tongues. Firstly, local authorities have allocated a sufficient proportion of the national budget to enrich indigenous textbooks, and linguistic programs, hopefully contributing to preserving local dialect. This means that even a wealth of knowledge written in English as an international language has been translated into the local language to be educated in schools and universities. This may inevitably prevent their language from being died out. Secondly, the language in each country embodies many cultural heritage, for instance, poems, novels, and historic pieces of literature. To say that these rich heritages of tradition and knowledge can be easily neglected by using a universal language is rather a simplistic view. This is simply due to the vital role of these elements in rituals, and social events.

Of course, it is true that the universality of one language may promote mutual understanding of people from different geographical and cultural backgrounds. This is perhaps tremendously influential in enhancing cultural identity, economic boom, and international trade. Nevertheless, it is also a well-known fact that this process can perhaps develop the individual realization that gradual replacement of mother tongue with a global one may progressively translate into the incorporation of alien concepts and ideas. This may affect the fabric of society and social standards.

Given these arguments, it seems reasonable to conclude that the dominant presence of local language in academic course books, cultural contexts, and historic events might eventually guarantee the long-term usage of it among local inhabitants.