It is said that the amount of violence on the TV programmes has negative effect on our social development and therefore should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Television is one of the major source of entertainment. People of different age groups prefer to watch TV in their leisure time. But, It has been considered that the violence shown in programs broadcast on TV have ill-effects on the advancement of society. In my opinion, although there are benefits of watching TV, still I agree with the former statement.

The predominant cause is that the teenagers get easily effected by the things shown on television. They find it cool, when their favourite heroes smoke or drink on screen. Youngsters try to follow them in their real life and it becomes their habit of drinking and smoking. While they are not in their senses, they indulge into anti-social activities, for example without any reason they start fighting with anyone, met with an accident when they drink and drive causing harm to themselves as well as to others, when they do not have enough money to buy drugs then they start doing robbery, rape cases and the list goes on.

Moreover, nowadays most of the shows aired on TV are criminal shows. By watching such shows, mind of the community get distracted and individuals do not trust even on their relatives or neighbours. People are becoming self-centered and as a result bond among the residents of society becomes weak. Beside that, they do not help any needy person who is suffering miserably.

In conclusion, I would like to say that it should be the responsibility of the government to impose restrictions on the shows which involve violence to great extent. Other than that, movie makers must aware the viewers at the starting of movie that drinking and smoking is injurious to health and the stunts are performed under expert supervision. Also, parents should make their children understand that the programs shown on television are not related to real life otherwise they have to suffer from great loss.