It seems clear that obesity in today s society is to some extent due to the availability of fast food Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed

Consumption of fast food has increased greatly in a last few years. It is often been argued that the reason for excessive weight gain reflect the higher intake of junk food. So, by simply increasing tax on these food items will not solve the problem, government should start awareness campaigns and encourage healthy eating habits in the citizens.

Many people says that imposing more tax on fast food will limit or reduce the intake of junk food. This might help to certain extent, however, it will \have a negative influence on middle class people. As, people earning extremely well will not get affected with an increase tax on such food products. So, even upon increasing the tax amount there will still be large number of people who would continue to buy fast food. On the contrary, the people with average salary will have to face the financial consequence, due to high price of such food items.

A better solution to curb this situation is, government can start doing Food awareness campaigns. For instance, in Ahmedabad, after the awareness programs conducted by Satvik food, regarding the ill effect of fast food, the data showed 60% of decline in the sell of most of the junk food products. Another way is by encouraging people to adopt health eating habits. As per today's scenario, most of the healthy food items are quiet expensive as compared to other food items. So, by making them affordable, many people would prefer to buy those products instead of food that harms their health.

In conclusion, as imposing more tax on junk food do not seem a viable option, as people from higher class would still be able to afford it. So instead, government can impart knowledge of the harmful effects of junk food by organizing camps. And also, by making helth food available at a lower cost will make people to turn toward health eating lifestyle.