It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

Ever thought of changing the world? Well then, volunteering organisation is the place where you can render service by choice and benefit the society at large. Volunteering has changed society and youth to great extent in both positive and negative way which is discussed in subsequent paragraphs.

There are enormous benefits to both society and youth. To begin with, students can sharpen their skills by gaining practical experience which in turn will boost their curriculum vitae. Also, they can develop strong bonds with other care givers and receivers. Additionally, working without financial pay-out indicates commitment and passion towards cause. To exemplify, Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) welcomes youth to help community by handling taxation matters along with beforehand training.

Now coming to positive effects on society, firstly, work without financial aid reduces a large amount of government spending. For instance, Teach for India is an organisation in India provides basic education to uplift the under-privileged children living in slum area. Besides, it also brings out significant change in building safer, cohesive and stronger community. Furthermore, it also helps society as a whole to become more active in civic engagement and concerned of citizenship.

Even though, the remarkable pros of volunteering, there are certain cons which can not be ignored. Youth can spend time developing in new skills and strengthen educational qualification which otherwise is spent in helping others. Additionally, not all but few in society exploits people in the name of volunteering.

To conclude, although, there are few negatives of non paid work but these are outweighed majorly by impacting positively on society and young adults.