It is suggested that everyone should have a car, a TV, and a fridge. DO the advantages of this development for society outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that it is a sole right for every single individual to own some basic needs, such as a vehicle or some household appliances. Despite the possible drawbacks of such development, I hold the notion that its beneficial impacts are more valuable.

On the one hand, it is true that such possessions may contribute greatly to polluting the environment. To illustrate, if each person has a car of their own, this will lead to increasing in gas emissions; hence, elevating pollution rates. This is actually the case in vast numbers of metropolises nowadays. Another drawback is that most of house devices are not energy-sufficient; in other words, they exert an extra pressure on electricity consumption. Consequently, governments would respond to such pressure by consuming more natural resources, which, eventually, may cause disturbance in our finely balanced ecosystem.

On the other hand, I would side with the idea that this development may has more significant positive impacts. Not only would this progress enhance people’s lives but it would also reflect the outstanding performance of the authorities in introducing a comprehensive support to all individuals equally. The presence of a car for transportation, or a fridge to keep food fresh, all are examples of facilities which help make life easier for people. Furthermore, for everyone to enjoy such facilities, it is a salient example of the hard work that any government does in order to improve the quality of life of its people.

To conclude, although the availability of some negative impacts, predominantly related to the environment, I reiterate that it is a privilege for citizens to have commodities that might facilitate their daily lives which would eclipse their harmful effects on nature.