It is suggested that everyone wants to have a car, a television and a fridge. Do disadvantages of this development for society outweigh advantages?

In the last decade, many changes have arrived and the list of essentials has enormously expanded. Now, a car, a television and a fridge has become a want for people, and with that, the usage of such things has also increased. This essay would discuss the merits and demerits of such goods and tell whether the disadvantages outweigh the advantages or not.

Nowadays, a car has become a significant part of life to commute from one place to another, and a television is the best medium of entertainment, and a refrigerator to keep the food fresh. People travel to office, shopping complex, gym and many other places, for which they need a car that also protects individuals from rain, dust, and the cold weather. Beside, people spend most time at home, so they look for possible options of entertainment, and many people prefer watching television, which is also beneficial for families as they would spend their time together. Moreover, a fridge is very necessary to protect food, such as vegetables and milk, so that it can be used when needed. Consequently, these goods have become a crucial part of people’s lives.

If such items are used more than a limit, they may cause severe consequences for everyone. Cars run on fossil fuels, such as petrol and diesel, which are not available at a reasonable price, and such cars also produce pollution, which may pose a serious threat to the environment. Furthermore, if people become addicted to watching television, they may not spend time with others or do some physical activities. As a result, it would effect not only their health but also the social life because of devoting most time of their day to the television. In addition, televisions and fridges consume much electricity; therefore, people would get higher electricity bill if such products are not used in a limit. For instance, people pay a higher electricity bill because they spend much time watching their favourite shows or matches on a television.

To conclude, although a car, a fridge, a television has many disadvantages. However, it becomes beneficial to possess such commodities by using them in a limit. So, the advantages of such items would definitely outweigh the disadvantages if they are not misued and used appropriately.