Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past decade, international sporting events, such as olympics and world cups. have increased enormously. Governments spend money on training athletes to win competitions. However, some people argue that the funds used to train players should be invested on things that will help individuals of nations. I partially agree with this assertion because games are crucial but needs of general public deserve equal importance.

Sports play a significant role in the development of a country and individuals because they foster people to work hard for a game, and sports also aid the nation economically. When people participate in a championship and win it, they represent their country which becomes popular due to the victories. Such achievements encourage others to develop a feeling for a particular sport, they might want to play to grow and accomplish their goals. Moreover, sporting events attract huge audience to visit the stadiums to watch the match that result in earning money by selling tickets, To illustrate, The Commonwealth Games, 2010 sold more than 3 million tickets that helped the government to raise funds for the championship. Therefore, taxes on tickets can help the nation to sustain the finanical condition, or even improve it.

The major source of income for nations is money collected from public as taxes on various goods and services that should be spent to benefit people. In many countries, there is an absence of quality education, and schools and colleges are not available at many places. For instance, many countrysides in India do not have educational instituions for children to study and become successful. Besides, citizens in developing countries do not have enough money for treatments; thus, they live a problematic life. Goverments should also consider the essence of living a normal life as a critical aspect and should use the money to provide amenities people need. For example, providing surgeries at a reasonable cost, and organizing free health check-ups in villages would help people to live a ill-free life.

Although, spending on training players for international sporting events cannot be ignored, governments should also understand the importance of investing funds on people's betterment.