Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer

prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better

alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Several individuals opine that proclaiming long duration imprisonment is an optimal strategy to dwindle the crime rate; however, some believe various substitutes are available to deplete illegal acts. I believe that the efficacy of long prison sentences would be low; hence regimes should reckon other alternatives. This essay shall elucidate both the concepts and give my opinion.

Firstly, long sentences would abate the number of criminals in public, which would reduce the crime ratio of nations. Criminal offenses would reduce immensely as prisoners would be inside the jail for a mammoth time-period. Moreover, people would be petrified to commit any unlawful action because it might result into a long-time jail, which would obstruct them to indulge in such pursuits. For instance, some developed territories inaugurated ten years imprisonment to law-breakers in case of a murder, which tremendously decreased their crime rates.

Secondly, equipping quality education and crucial employment could shrink the count of crimes and criminals. Authorities could provide innate learning sessions to such humans, so that they could be educated enough to survive in this competitive environment effortlessly. Furthermore, significant job opportunities could be offered to them, which would assist them in earning and dwelling comfortably; thus, the world would be safe from criminal acts as such numbers would plummet.To illustrate, jailers acquire essential skills from various trainings inside the jail and are aided with attractive jobs,which underpin them in abiding a pleasant lifestyle.

In conclusion, there are enormous methods to mitigate crimes, which would make the earth a safe place to reside. In my perspective, countries should focus more on educating their citizens to become responsible and intellectual instead of implementing severe punishments on them.