Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In this modern era, crime rates have been mushrooming in the world which can have detrimental impacts on human beings. Clans of masses ponder that the optimum way to abate crime is to keep law-breakers in a prison for a long time, whereas few folks opine that there are some best options to eradicate crime. I agree with later notion which I will elaborate with suitable illustrations in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, making long imprisonment is the best punishment ever. Because humans just waste their precious time in prison and realize how huge mistakes they have made. Prison is really a big curse for anyone. There you can only seat and have most criminals surrounded by you, which gives you negative feelings all the time. For example, In India imprisonment is very long, so most of the people would not like to spend time in prison. After some time you feel monotonous and tedious. Secondly, Long imprisonment lessens your attachment with your family members. Which affects you a lot on your mind. Even your family members also have less empathy towards them. Thus, long prison is the best according to some mankind.

On the other hand, there are numerous ways that can be helpful to diminish crime. Firstly, if anyone commits a crime sent one's to the country's border to secure that particular nation with no salary for a particular time. Like this we can reduce soldiers cost as well as we have most aggressive personnel to fight with others during in any emergency. For example, Bhutan sends their criminals at border. Owing to this in Bhutan we can see lowest crime of the World. Secondly, Government can send them in Old age homes or orphanage homes where they can realize real meaning of life and can develop sympathy for needy people. Unless they will feel anything, they will same even after long imprisonment. Thus, these other options are also best. Like this we can have both the side win-win situation.

According to me, we can give them a task to clean public areas like Gardens, Temples, Mosque, High-ways, commercial buildings and such like. So we can have less burden on legislations treasury as well as people feel shyness in public. Hence, they will avoid doing crime.

In conclusion, even though long prison is the best way to change one's mindset, there are abundant ways that can give us fruitful results.