Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning history has been existing since time immemorial. Some think that knowing the past is of no importance and say that it is not useful to those living in the present. I agree with this thought owing to the fact that the knowledge gained will not be applicable and also think that the time and efforts can be spent on a useful subject.

First and foremost, the facts and information acquired through learning about the past will not be applicable in real life or to make a living. This will be of use to those ought to pursue to become historians or archaeologists or writers. Most of the usual jobs will require the subjective knowledge and also expect employees to be updated with the latest trends in their respective fields rather than having the knowledge of the past. Hence, learning about the past has no significance to the present generation.

Additionally, the time allocated to learn history can be utilized to seek practical knowledge that will help to have better careers and prospects. For instance, if children at school are taught about the latest technological advancements in computers instead of battles fought back in the old ages or evolution of civilizations, it would help them to develop interest and gain knowledge on computers and keep up to the present. This would aid to shape better careers. So, learning history would not be worth in the present times.

In conclusion, learning and studying about the past is not important for the present generation because the knowledge is not effective in daily life and time spent can rather be used to have practical and subjective knowledge that will support their careers