Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, people opt to move to different countries for better career options and lifestyle. However, this may not be as simple as it sounds, as they have to face some severe social and practical challenges due to language difference. In my opinion, communicating in foreign language can give rise to tremendous daily life troubles.

The immediate problem people encounter is in making new friends. Inability to speak properly in foreign language and communicate thoughts and feelings clearly cause a setback for many. Therefore, they start avoiding talking to people to safe guard themselves from any miscommunication which can arise due to the lack of command. To share an example, one of my friend went to China for higher education. Being from India he had knew only English and Hindi, and Chinese was a new job for him to learn. His real time experience was that because of difference in the language, talking to native speakers became difficult as they preferred to talk in Chinese only. Initially, technology supported him to converse using google translator on smart phone but that turned out to be a time consuming and slow process. Finally, he ended up learning Chinese after realizing that his non-ability is creating hurdles for his future growth.

Moreover, people also encounter some practical challenges when the displays are in foreign languages such as ordering food at restaurants, reading article prices during shopping, and reading sign boards during driving. Such disconnect causes dissatisfaction and demotivation until they get versed with the local language.

Overall, living overseas is not a cup of cake especially where people have to interact in other language. Social and practical problems are bound to happen for an initial period while they learn new language and adopt to the new culture. Meanwhile, technology should be considered as the best friend for an intermediate solution.