Loneliness is an increasing problem in many societies, especially among the elderly. Why is this? How might it be remedied?

In this cutting-edge technology era, seclusion is an emerging social issue in the world. There are numerous possible reasons behind this burning issue. However, by taking some steps this problem can be resolved wisely. This essay will elaborate on the problems and solutions of this hot (crucial) issue in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the major factors is the rising popularity of nuclear families. If we observe around us, it can be said that younger people are more inclined towards a single-family concept instead of living in an extended family. The young generation does not hesitate to abandon their parents and grandparents in a village to lead a better life in metropolitan cities. In addition, they will be busy in the rat race of urban life and forget their parents. Another crucial factor is the generation gap and it is widening day by day. This causes a clash of ideas among family members and disrespect towards older people. Elderly people, as a result, feel lonesome and get into depression. Apart from that, due to solitude in old age, many older people start losing their interest towards life. Negligence, lack of affection, and love from their younger ones are also discouraging them to have an active lifestyle and they lack their interest in their social lives.

Let us examine. How can these problems be solved? In order to solve this uncongenial situation, first of all, people should be encouraged to live in a joint family and they should spend quality time with older people. Living together will not only help the elderly but also help the young generation. Earlier elders used to be considered the back bone of any family because of their unconditional love and guidance to the youngsters. Moreover, by introducing the old-age club, they can live and mingle with same age people and can motivate each other to be livelier even in the later year of their lives.

To conclude, fast-paced life, changing family structures, and lack of love and affection are the main reasons behind developing this negative attitude among older people. There is no doubt that by adopting traditional ways of living and spend quality time by being more attentive towards them, we can help to live an active life.