The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and spaces on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people think libraries should provide only books and should not spend anything on virtual resources, such as videos and DVDs. I partially agree with this thought because libraries have limited resources of fundings, and should invest only on books, but educational videos are an essential part of learning that help in understanding a topic much better.

Libraries should invest only on books and utilise their spaces only for books as they have limited resources. People come to libraries to either study or collect books which doesn't require people to pay. Libraries are required to provide a clean environment to the readers and the vast availability of books. Due to that, the government spends money on arranging new books and maintaining libraries from their budget. Therefore, libraries should not waste money on an expensive hi-tech media to cut-down the libraries’ expenses. For example, Norway spends approximately $100,000 on libraries for their maintenance and importing all kinds of books for children and adults.

Virtual learning plays a vital role in the understanding of a particular topic. Instructor-led videos help people in a better and in-depth understanding of a specific topic. Not only instructor-led videos but also documentaries contribute towards individuals’ knowledge of a lesson. Moreover, sometimes people have less time, due to which they prefer to watch videos to learn the lesson quickly they are looking for. Consequently, libraries should make such online platforms available for people, so that they can have virtual understanding, along with theoretical knowledge. To illustrate, in the US, libraries provide laptops which can be accessed by anyone to watch videos or attend online sessions.

To conclude, libraries should spend money wisely as they do not have enough resources; however, providing educational DVDs and other sources in libraries is significant for the growth and development of readers.