Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Recently, I read an article about the popularity of immunization in Kazakhstan. Some doctors state that authorities should oblige parents to protect their children through vaccination. However, some health scientists argue that they should allow them to decide on their own. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of independent parental choice.

Let us start with the reasons why some practitioners advocate that the government should make parents to vaccinate their children. The first reason is that it usually helps young people to avoid many diseases. Many children, for example, stay healthy throughout the breakout of deadly flu, if they receive vaccination in advance, since it teaches their organism how to identify the disguising virus and consequently eradicate it. Another reason is that it is frequently economical. Most parents do not have to buy any costly medicine to cure their children, when they are immune to a wide range of disorders via vaccination, which can save the family budget substantially. Therefore, after the analysis of these reasons, it is clear that officials should legislate the obligatory vaccination in households.

Nevertheless, some health scientists say that the government should entitle parents the right to choose whether to vaccinate their children. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, vaccination may lead to health problems in youth. The introduction of foreign substances, such as vaccine, sometimes causes many complications to the health of youngsters, because they might be either allergic to it or develop side effects. Secondly, it might be inefficient. Vaccination, for instance, cannot prevent all forms of flu, because this virus tend to adapt to new conditions and become invisible to the immunity. As a result, after the consideration of these arguments, it is obvious that parents should make a decision alone to either immunize their children or not.

In conclusion, although some doctors claim that authorities should make it obligatory for parents to immunize children, I believe that the government should let parents autonomously decide whether to do it.