Many children nowadays are spending more and more time inside rather than outside. Is this

a positive or negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your knowledge or experience.

In era of 21st century, children have multiple options to engage themselves in numerous indoor and outdoor activities. However, it is observed that

most of them prefer to spend more time at home rather than outside. According to me, this is a negative development by looking towards its adverse

affects on health and enrichment of pivotal social skills.

To begin with, it seems apparent that the preference given by offspring to stay at home may lead to various health problems. This means to say that

if toddlers continue to pass time in playing indoor games, they would not burn calories appropriately. In other words, this sedentary lifestyle has resulted in severe health issues such as obesity, diabetes and other chronic disorders. Moreover, playing and spending more time in front of technological gadgets including smart phones, laptops indeed will end up with blurry visions to child. Take for instance, as per survey conducted by the university of California in 2018 revealed that more than 40% pupils in the California who prefer to live at home are suffering from hyper cholesterol which is the prime cause of overweight. Thus, this trend will have negative affect on children.

Additionally, the young generation are oblivious to the paramount importance of outdoor games and outside life due to more preference given to indoor activities. This is because numerous skills can be developed by playing sports with others in open space. To be more specific, if children go outside and mingle with peer group, certain significant skills such as cooperation, teamwork can be inculcated which would obviously benefit them in later part of life. A best illustration is a report published in the Toronto Times on behavior of school-going children last year stated that pupils of Toronto were unaware about importance of social skills owing to their negligence of outdoor games. Resultantly, this notion has negatively affect on enlightment of life values.

To conclude, by looking towards aforementioned discussion, according to me, it tends clear to say that an ever-increasing preference given to spend more time inside by children undoubtedly negatively affects their health and development of essential skills. I would suggest that both parents and teachers join their hands to engage pupils in both outdoor and indoor games.