In many cities young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity why do you this this happens and is positive or negative development

There is a burgeoning trend of shopping amongst youngsters as a free time activity, in several cities. This essay is to provide the causes of this situation and analyse its effects.

There are many factors contributing to this phenomenon. Firstly, some people find shopping therapeutic because they can take their mind off their problems. In other words, to draw the attention off from the daily issues, people, who work from down to dusk, addict themselves with this hobby. Secondly, the peer pressure forces teenage to keep up with the latest trends. For example, if a girl of the group purchases new clothes, others also desire to buy same clothing. Lastly, following celebrity culture is the reason for this trend. As young people always try to copy their favourite star, no matter how much it costs them. To cit an example, once a new movie is released, sales of the dresses worn by actress increase rampantly.

It is generally believed that shopping as a leisure activity brings tremendous drawbacks to the to the youngsters and even to their family. To commence with, wastage of money behind clothing is not preferable for young people, thus they never learn to value the money. Furthermore, rather than doing shopping youth can invest their time for some active leisure activity, it helps their mental and physical development. For instance, one of the recent study revealed that, the time one spend in leisure activity is directly linked to their psychological functioning.

To conclude, although, one should be dressed decently according to occasion, however impulsive spending on shopping is the negative development, caused by hectic schedules, to get rid of problems, and to follow famous celebrities.