In many cities, young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity.

Why do you think this happens?

Is it a positive or negative development?

Some would argue that in many metropolitan, market visits for shopping has become a way to break monotonous routine. I think that this phenomenon has emerged because of the extremely busy life of people; however, it is an unwelcome development because it eventually leads to debts.

There are several reasons for this burgeoning trend. Firstly, lack of recreational centers in the cities such as sports grounds and other healthy amenities for the younger generation, where they can replenish themselves apart from their hectic routine. Secondly, most young masses have a packed routine, and they are unable to spare some time to schedule meet up with their friends or plan any trip to a picnic spot. So, it leads to exhaustion in many people and, they consider shopping as an activity to freshen up themselves. For example, a report of a survey conducted in the Centaurus Mall revealed that 70% of people came here for shopping to experience a change in their routine.

On the other hand, this development has several negative impacts on the life of young persons because they seek gratification in shopping; and eventually ended up wasting a hefty amount on buying unnecessary things. However, they do not realize that they waste a lot of their hard-earned money unintentionally on shopping. For instance, in Canada, the average income of a young person is $20,000, and he spends about $9000 of his income on shopping unimportant things.

To conclude, in cities, people are living a busy life where they do not have enough opportunities to get a break from their tedious routine so they consider shopping as an activity to rejoice themselves. However, it is a kind of development that needs to be discouraged because unknowingly these activities consume a huge amount of money.