Many countries are currently witnessing an increase in criminal activity among young people. Discuss reasons for this phenomenon and suggest ways to deal with the problem.

In recent years, crime has become an important issue for many countries as it is becoming more violent and increasing day by day. This is mainly because of a lack of education and fewer job opportunities for the youth which are correlated. There are various solutions to curb violence and crime rate.

The problem arises when people are uneducated and they are unable to find work to make a living successfully. They indulge in criminal activities for fulfilling their basic needs such as food, clothing, and shelter. For instance, the crime rate is the highest in the African continent and it is observed that the literacy rate in the region is the lowest in the world. Because of the lack of education, the people are unable to find a job to make a decent living and eventually resort to the crime industry.

However, there are two main strategies that the government can adopt to control the crime rate. Firstly, increasing the level of education or giving them vocational training so that they develop skills required for availing a job and secondly creating more and more job opportunities. To exemplify, the Chinese have developed manufacturing industries and created an infrastructure for the entire world to invest and manufacture in china, thereby creating jobs in the country. This pulls the youth towards employment and earning a livelihood legally.

In conclusion, it is necessary to take action to curtail unlawful and illegal activities by providing better education and creating additional employment sources. This will enable the government to maintain law and order in the country.