In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

It is true that many youngsters start their independent life by living apart from their parents after graduation from school. This essay considers this trend as positive improvement for society and the reasons behind it will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

There would be various benefits for both young people and their parents if individuals start their independent life after finishing school. Youngsters, in this way, have to take care of their daily needs, ranging from house chores, cooking or cleaning, and financial independence. Thus, instead of wasting time with childish activities, they must learn skills and work part-time or full-time in order to cover their live expenses. Although it might seem challenging for them to live on their own at first, it would give them valuable experience and lead them to become a mature responsible adult. Parents would also be pleased with this practice since they can enjoy by having more time on themselves. They don't have to change their habit in order to adapt to the new generation's lifestyle. For instance, many people would travel around the world at these ages, which would be impossible if their children want to stay with them after high-school.

Admittedly, there might be some challenges involved in this plan, and in a few cases, youngsters might go through dangerous activities, such as drug or petty crimes. However, instead of keeping their children close to themselves through adulthood, parents should teach their children in their upbringing to distinguish between wrong and right and take responsibilities for their actions.

In conclusion, although there might be some adverse consequences with this new practice, I believe that the advantages of this plan outweigh its drawbacks for both youngsters and parents.