In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

In numerous western nations, the of being self-reliant and self-sufficient is highly valued. Young adults after completing their schooling, move out of their parents’ house. Society questions this trend in terms of its good and bad impact; however, this essay will argue why it is a positive advancement for both youngsters and their parents.

Firstly, living away from family makes young individuals more responsible. Whether they have decided to live alone or to share their accommodation with friends, they have to carry out most of the household chores by themselves and planning ahead of the time. In this process, they learn to be accountable, for instance, when I rented a room in Mississauga, I became more aware of my spending habit as I have to save money for paying rent. This experience of living far from my family made me better at handling financial matters. Moreover, I learnt cooking, cleaning and punctuality in the long run. Therefore, living away from family has the potential to transform youngsters to be more accountable.

From a parents’ perspective, this trend brings significant benefits as well. Once children have shifted away from their parents’ house, mother and father can spend more time together which was otherwise dedicated to the upbringing of the children. In other words, parents can rekindle the spark which might have gone missing in the past years. In addition, because they are no more looking after their children, it provides an opportunity to pursue those dreams that has remained un-fulfilled due to child rearing responsibilities. For example, these days, old age couples go on world tour due to the fact that they do not have to worry about oversee their children as a consequence of this development.

To conclude, living away from one’s family is a win-win situation for both children and parents. While parents can fulfil their dreams, youngsters transform into better version of themselves.