In many countries insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reason for this? What problems might this cause in society?

Nowadays, it is witnessed that enough respect is not given to the elderly people in most of the places around the world. In my opinion, the current generation should take into account to hold up the dignity, which the senior citizens yearn and protect the humanity.

The main reason for not respecting the older people, is that people consider them an overburdened soul, because majority of them are financially dependent, although, most of it was invested in the well-being the younger ones. Moreover, the old aged men suffer from health disorders. Hence, they demand a caretaker solely dedicating time for them, which is tedious. Furthermore, with their experiences of life, they try to give uninvited advises, which is felt inappropriate and earns hatred. For example, research shows increased old age homes in most of the developing countries, as a result of intolerance towards the old.

The Society is facing umpteen issues due to the disrespect shown on elderly. However, this promotes a live alone or small family system with deteriorating extended family, which indirectly result in alienation, depression, isolation and feeling of loneliness among any age group leading to Physical and mental trauma. Consequently, the implications are registered in the minds of the next generation and imitative behavior can be seen from them. To illustrate, a child visualizes his grandparents tormented every day in front of him, learns how the world operates and applies the same one day on his parents.

In conclusion, displaying gratitude on the souls, who sacrificed all their lives for the betterment of their young one’s lives, is the best way to prove humanity’s existence. While, by respecting the old, let us teach our future generation tolerant behavior towards the older ones.