In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

Television plays a major role in the lives of many people taking up hours of their free time watching sports, soap operas, movies etc thus preventing them from socializing with friends and keep them glued to the couch. Eventually, it has negative effects on health, both mental and physical. In my opinion, it is advisable to watch television in moderation and not in excess.

Watching television is a passive activity. Long hours in front of the television leads to a sedentary lifestyle. It increases the chances of cardiac issues and gain in body weight leading to obesity. A study conducted in Manchester shows that, 70% people suffering from obesity spend extended hours watching television daily. It is important to plan your day in such a fashion that one gives time to other physical activities for the development of the body.

On the other hand, it also has negative effects on the brain, the immediate effect of too much screen time leads to laziness and loss of focus. When a person is watching a video his brain gets connected with it and those images run in the mind even after it is over thereby losing focus on the present and dwelling in the past. For instance, A study depicted that a person cannot think clearly about the other matters of daily life as his focus is fragmented and disoriented and may end up being absent minded.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that spending long hours on television can prove to be detrimental to health and social life. In my opinion, it can be a good medium to obtain information if we limit the usage and regulate our watching habits. Otherwise, it will lead to health issues in the long term.