In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away.

What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

The impact of modernization can be seen in all facets of society. In this modern era, people consider that the usage of daily used products is beneficial to a limited period of time after that they should be discarded. The main reasons for this thinking are the accessibility of products at cheap and affordable rates and the availability of items in huge quantities. However, this trend can lead to an increase in environmental pollution.

To embark on, People avoid using the items more than once and prefer to throw it away because of numerous reasons. Firstly, the products used for the daily household chores or for other activities are available in the supermarkets at considerably low rates which encourage the individuals to purchase them in large quantities. Consequently, this over-consumption leads to the degradation of items after a short span of time. Secondly, another crucial reason is that manufacturers produce items in large quantities. Additionally, the principal focus of industrialists is the quantity, as a result, they compromise the quality of the product. Therefore, the durability of such items reduces which obligates the consumers to throw them away.

This phenomenon can have an extreme impact on the environment. Primarily, the products available at cheap prices are manufactured using non-biodegradable materials such as plastic which can lead to environmental pollution. Next, the trend of throwing away household items produces waste. Thus, the exaggeration of rubbish can cause soil and air pollution, that is harmful to the ecosystem. For instance, an environmental study has revealed that 40% of the rubbish produced from the household contains disposable plates and cups used in homes and in parties.

In conclusion, admittedly following the practices of modern society is quintessential to remain updated but the detrimental repercussions of such activities to our environment should also be kept in mind. In the near future, owing to the increase of environmental pollution, the throwaway practice will be banned by the government.