In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas.

Why do you think that is?

What problems can this cause?

Urbanization is a major problem of current time. Anecdotal evidences shows rapid migration of people from rural areas to urban area. Such movement is after-effect of various problem faced by these rural people due to their negligence by the ruling parties. Such rapid turnaround in the mobilization of labor force will lead to variety of consequences to be borne by all.

Firstly, rural areas are major source of development of primary sector in the economy, which cannot compete with secondary and territory section for economic growth. Accordingly, it does not provides much incentives to politicians to expand their investment towards rural sector. It leads to lower income growth, lack of basic facilities, education, development and many more adverse effect on rural growth. Having hope of growth, personal development and better prospects for their children, people start migrating to urban area. Their success stories encourage others to participate in the same process and enjoy their right of better living and better future for the children.

Further, such massive migration results in the population growth in urban area which put on higher burden on scare resources available in urban areas. Moreover, such shift leads to reduction in labor force in rural areas and contributes to lower productivity. Continuous population expansion in urban areas lead to scare resource available for higher prices to reach equilibrium on the demand supply curve and lead such amenities out of reach of socially poor class and fits in budget of only affluent class of society, which in turn makes the former to use unlawful means to achieve such benefits. Continuous penetration of scare resources lead to crime, unethical behavior and so more.

To end, migration of people from rural to urban areas has its own pros and cons and need to be looked after by the government.