In many countries plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Some people believe that the advantages of using plastic containers outweigh the disadvantages. However, in my opinion, the disadvantages of plastic containers outweigh the advantages, even though the advantages outnumber the disadvantages. There are two reasons why I think the disadvantages have more problems than the advantages as below.

First, general plastic does not decay and cannot be recycled, so it causes lots of environment problems to earth, especially waste treatment. Since it does not disappear naturally, some people burn the plastics to remove them, but it emits serious chemical toxics which are deadly harmful to people. Some people try to bury the plastic waste, but there is not enough space to bury the huge amount of plastic waste for hundreds of years. So, most countries are encouraging to reduce the usage of plastic containers. For example, currently some supermarkets do supply the plastic bags to their customers and most cafes provide paper cups and straws to reduce the plastic wastes.

Second, plastic containers destroy the ecosystem. Due to plastic wastes in sea, many ocean creatures are threatened their lives. In addition with wastes floating over the sea, the waste in the deep sea pollute the living spaces of oceanic lives and reduce their numbers. It leads the destroy of ecosystem and affect seriously to the survival of human beings. For example, we can see many cases that a group of whales or thousands of fishes are dead on the seashore, and their abdomens are filled with plastic wastes. These cases are happening more often and getting serious.

To sum up, the disadvantages of plastic containers is to pollute our nature and destroy our ecosystem which is related to our survival in this earth, because they are not recycled and decayed. In this regards, even though plastic containers have many advantages, disadvant