In many countries plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, plastic has become an indispensable material. Plastic brings convenience to people, on the other hand, it is causing tremendous damage to the environment. That is because it does not rot, which is the fatal disadvantage of plastic. Therefore, I think that plastic has more disadvantages than advantages. I will tell you three reasons to support my opinion.

To begin with, plastic waste causes terrible damage to animals. Plastic waste does not rot easily, so most of it flows into the sea if it is thrown on the ground carelessly. Many animals mistake this plastic for food, so they are suffering. For example, many sea turtles mistake plastic for food and die a lot. Not only marine animals, but also camels living in the desert did not have much food, so they ate a lot of plastic and were very sick. It is also said that several marine animals were hit by plastic debris, resulting in amputation of their arms and legs or large cuts to their faces. So for animals, plastic is just a disaster.

Next, plastic has a huge amount of trash. Plastic varies from type to type, but studies show that the fastest rotting speed is hundred years. This perishable plastic builds up, making the amount of waste huge as well as unaffordable. Therefore, the garbage island, which is the place to throw away trash, has been filled up and is gradually flowing into the sea. Eventually, this hurts animals and the vicious cycle repeats itself. Also, in a news report, an expert said that in the next fifty years, trash will occupy half of the continent.

Last, plastic is supposed to end up hurting people. As mentioned earlier, when animals eat plastic, people eat it. This naturally builds up microplastics in the human body. These piles of plastic do not decay in the body, so it causes various diseases or dies when it gets worse. Also, not only will waste reduce the area of land that people can live in, but the air will also be polluted, forcing them to live in increasingly dirty conditions. For instance, even now many developed countries sell their own trash to developing countries.

This is why I think plastics have more disadvantages than advantages. Plastic made for people’s convenience harms animals, amplifies the amount of waste and eventually harms people. Thus, we must work to reduce the use of plastics and develop rotting plastics in the future.