In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single sex schools or co-educational Schools. Some people think that children going to single sex schools have the disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays parents have the option of sending their children either to single-sex schools or mixed schools. While single-gender schools are thought by some to have a negative impact later in child’s life, I partially disagree with this notion as studying in single-sex schools has some merits as well.

On the one hand, co-educational schools often mirror the real world which lacks in single-gender schools. Studying with opposite gender facilitates communication and understanding among students and they learn team working skills that will be essential in their future career. Moreover, girls and boys have different perspectives about various things and they are never able to understand and respect this difference if they have never studied together. It has also been observed that people who have studied in single-sex schools are less confident while speaking to audience comprising of both genders. Hence, there are certain aspects of life where students, studying with same gender, may suffer.

On the other hand, sending male and female students to separate schools is often due to some religious or cultural beliefs. In teenage, students tend to develop early relationships triggered by hormone changes. Thus, studying with same sex students results in less distraction and indiscipline, leading to effective class time. Furthermore, girls are often believed to be fast learners. They develop and progress quicker than the male students. Therefore, studying in single-sex schools offer both genders a platform where they can learn at their own pace. Also there are certain sections of study such as human biology that teachers find difficult to teach in same depth to both genders in the same classroom and this can easily be resolved by resorting to different schools for both genders. Finally, attributed by the effectiveness and quality of classroom sessions, students at single-sex schools often get better exam grades.

In conclusion, I believe that studying in single-sex schools has certain advantages that cannot be overlooked by its disadvantages and parents can be the best critics to decide the appropriate kind of school to send their children for getting education.