Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the past few years, there has been a significant increase in international travel. More and more persons are travelling to places with extreme weather conditions. This essay will analyze the benefits and drawbacks for people visiting such places.

On the one hand, sightseeing difficult areas give people the confidence in their abilities and broaden their horizon. Tourists love to explore the less explored areas of the world like the Sahara desert or the Antarctica. While the journey can be physically and mentally tiring, however the exhilaration one experiences upon its successful completion is beyond description. For example, one Norway explorer Saraus, who stayed in Antarctica for about six months, has described in his testimony one of the most beautiful sunrises ever seen by a human eye. Adventure tourism is on hike these days. People are aware of the risks involved, yet they want to experience the thrill and therefore plan more of such expeditions.

However, arduous journeys are extremely dangerous. People can cost their lives for sake of excitement and fun. For instance, recently a group of seven foreigners lost their lives while trekking on the mountains of Himalayas. It took ten days to trace their bodies. Moreover, government also incurred a huge expenditure on the rescue operation. There are also many other instances when travelers have suffered serious injuries while on expeditions, leaving some of them immobile for the rest of their lives.

The above look illustrates that tours to certain beautiful and extreme places could be adventurous to the people and could also cost lives to some. It is thus recommended that prospective tourists exercise proper precautions and safety measures before engaging in such thrilling yet dreadful excursions.