In many countries, traditions and customs are disappearing. What are the reasons? What should schools and parents do to keep our traditions alive?

The loss of traditional and cultural values is the consequence of urbanization and globalization. To keep our customs alive, parents and educational institutions could play a vital role by teaching the modern generation in many ways.

Urbanization and technological advancement at the global level are two distinct causes of the loss of traditional lifestyle. With regard to urbanization, people move from the countryside to urban areas for better job opportunities, advanced healthcare and to get higher education. As a result of this movement and to be socially accepted in urban society, people adapt themselves to modern lifestyle by leaving their traditional values behind. As for globalization, with the help of advanced technology almost every country is influenced by western culture and lifestyle. The effect of which can be clearly seen in the dressing style, food, language and celebrations of the modern generation.

The joint efforts of schools and parents could preserve our cultural values. As far as the role of the academies is concerned, they should teach children the traditional values as a part of the school curriculum. To do this more effectively, cultural festivals could be organized at a school level, and teachers should encourage the students to participate. Another important effort would be of parents by spending some time with their offsprings to teach them the importance of traditional customs. For instance, they can organize an educational trip with their children to old museums and art galleries. This way they can show their children the history of our culture and what to learn from it.

In conclusion, urban movement and proliferation due to technology have an effect on our traditional lifestyle. Therefore, schools and parents should teach the value of the customs to preserve our roots.