In many countries, weddings are getting big and expensive today as they were in past.

Why do you think this is the case?

Is it a negative or positive development?

Getting married, perhaps is the most important moment in one’s life therefore people spend more and more money to make it memorable. However, there is a growing trend recently, of making matrimonial ceremonies big and costly, round the globe. I think this growing trend has negative impact on our society.

In the first place, people often consider expensive marriages as status symbol and spend huge amount of money by inviting unnecessary guests along-with buying expensive clothes and jewelry. For instance, those who want to show their community that they are very well connected socially, would consider this as an important opportunity and would invite as many political figures as they can. Hence it is quite obvious that those who are of the view that marriage ceremony are a status symbol, would invite more guests and spend more.

In addition to that, there are some people who are of the view that marriage is the most important occasion of their life and would like to have particular theme to make it memorable and would like everyone to share this moment with them, who is dear to them. In order to do that, they spend large amount of money on unnecessary things. In my own wedding, me and my wife wanted to have white color as theme and spent more money on our marriage than usual. So I am guilty of wasting handsome amount of money for no particular reason.

However, this growing trend has a huge negative implication on our society by encouraging less deprived people to spend money on their marriages beyond their financial means. Poor people are often seen, lending money for their matrimonial ceremonies and found themselves in deep trouble of financial crisis, soon after starting a new chapter of their life.

To recapitulate, keeping in view the aforementioned arguments, we can conclude that people often spend large sums on huge marriage ceremonies as status symbol, leaving a negative impact on society and leading poor people to spend more money on their marriages, leaving them in debts.