Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or

nursing homes.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In past decade care home have become too prominent as a home for the elder folks of the family. They are not taken care by their children in old age. In this essay we will look at both the benefits and drawbacks of the view.

To begin with, there are multifarious advantages of living in shelter homes. Firstly, they will have all the necessary facilities required to take care of people who are higher in age. For instance, they will have stair-lift to take physically weak individuals from one floor to another, also they will have proper fooding and peaceful atmosphere which is a prerequisite for elderly people. Secondly, all of them will be in same place and can, understand and support each other better than anyone.

Despite that it is not all positive, there are various flaws with nursing homes especially because of today's generation. Nowadays, children put their parents in foster homes because they are loosing respect for them. They treat elderly as burden and want to get rid of them at the earliest. Such lack of empathy deeply hurt feelings of any individual. Another, reason is that during their last time no family member would be present with them.

In conclusion, drawbacks far outweigh the positive especially when moving parents or grand-parents to an elderly home. Also, this decision should be thoroughly though out step as it affects both the generations.