Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Sending geriatrics in the care homes than taking care them at homes by family is ever rising trend in today’s era. This essay tends to discuss both merits and demerits of this tendency.

On the positive side, availability of facilities as well as professionally trained staff in nursing homes are to be proved advantageous for elder people. Considering facilities at first, care homes are generally contain elevators for the sake of smooth mobility of elderly. Even, rooms, beds, washrooms everything is made considering grey people in mind. As for the faculty, staff, who are shouldered the responsibility of elders, are not only awarded with professional degrees but also equipped with practical trainings for better service to grey people. In contrast, at the homes, neither they have elevators for convenience of elder people nor the family members possess adequate skills for the better care of older people.

On the negative side, ill surroundings of care homes and not having near and dear ones around them are the basic disadvantages for grey haired people to live in nursing homes. Elders are more prone to develop the health ailments as mostly people living in these places are ill. Also, they are deprived from the affection of their own family members. Although they might be promised by family to visit them regularly but these visits, due to hectic schedule of families, can be infrequent. They consequently tend to develop several physical and mental disorders which likely to make the matter worst.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of facilities as well as professional care takers in care homes to look after geriatrics, drawbacks, unhealthy aura of nursing homes and absence of kith and kin around elders, are too dire to ignore.