Many high school students take part-time jobs. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The trend of doing part-time jobs by teenagers with their studies is increasingly becoming prevalent. This is advantageous for them to earn some extra money with an exploration of new situations at the workplace, however, it negatively affects their education and relationship with their parents.

On the positive side, students can have the availability of income source with which they could fulfill some of their desires such as purchasing luxury items and spending money on earing out. They could also compensate for the tuition fee expenses. Department of Education, Delhi, for instance, conducted a survey that revealed that the majority of the international students at the National Delhi high school run their daily routine expense and school fee expenditures by doing part-time work at Mc Donald’s and school welfare clubs. Moreover, youngsters face novel circumstances at their job place, which they would not be able to encounter at school or at home. As a result, they could handle the difficult situations in their future adult life.

On the negative side, young ones would be left behind with little time to focus on their studies properly. Consequently, their grades get lowered down which ultimately restricts them to obtain admission in the university for tertiary education. To illustrate it, two-third of the working students at Canadian High School, Regina find it hard to enroll as a university graduate due to poor grades. In addition to this, part-time employed students spend their most of time either at an educational institute or at the job, thus, they have no time to have interaction with their parents on a regular basis. This weakens their relationship bonds with their nearer and dearer ones.

In conclusion, students who take evening work have benefits of possession extra coins, but it has some major drawbacks as well which are detrimental for them in the long run.