Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and monuments tell about the life of ancient people. People visit such places in their country and even other countries to know about the lifestyle of individuals in different countries in the past. However, it is evident that local people are not thrilled to go to historical sites that are nearby to their homes. The expensive tickets could be the main reason, which stops the locals to explore the museums.

In many countries, people scarcely have a good income which is enough only for their survival. Some people are not affluent enough that they can spend money on other activities apart from spending on intrinsic things. Moreover, the price of tickets of museums is so high that discourages their willingness to see any historical place. For example, the Indian government charges 100 rupees from the local public to grant access to the Taj Mahal that is half of many people’s single day wage. Therefore, the locals tend not to visit such museums and historical sites.

Governments can make the ticket price available to the local population at a reasonable price. States charge a high fee from international tourists to buy a ticket that may be sufficient for the maintenance of monuments and museums. So, if governments start to charge less amount from the locals, it would encourage them to visit such places. To illustrate, the arts and science museum in Tokyo sells its tickets at a low price to the Japanese population that encourages the locals to explore the museum. Consequently, governments can decrease the price of tickets for the local people to increase their visit to museums and historical places.

To conclude, countries should take a decent amount from the locals to allow them to enter museums and historical sites. Nations can use the money collected from high taxes on goods, and expensive education to maintain such places.