Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Some museums impose an admission charge whilst some museums are free. In this brief essay, the argument will be presented on both the advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, the drawback of an entrance fee obscured its benefits where the income will be put towards the operation cost of the museum.

A major disadvantage of an admission fee is the possibility of reducing visitors. Museums house valuable exhibitions and historical artefacts of great education value. Failing to attract entrants diminishes one of the aims of a museum to educate the community. History of mankind is necessary to pass on younger generation and not be forgotten. Take for an example, London museum houses monuments from Egypt (such as, clothes, books, vases with drawings and more) dated back a thousand-year. This section of the museum is free of charge, providing the opportunities for children to understand the past and learn from mistake in the past to prevent similar event to occur.

An entrance fee might have a negative social image impact and negative effect on admission figure, but an income could mostly be in favour to the museum in reducing operation cost. The television channel, National Geographic, has once aired a TV series of maintaining historical artefacts. It showed changes to the environment has increased the challenge to keep artefacts from the past. Associated to cost to maintain the items have seen drastically increased over the years. There are increasing debates to ensure articles of historical values should be conserved with all power and resources. This example speaks of volume the reasonable cause of charging admission fee.

In conclusion, the drawback of an admission fee is overshadowed by the advantage. Museum around the world can follow the successful implementation of admission fee model from London Museum, where majority of the museum is free of charge and occasional rare exhibitions requires an admission fee to continue viewing.