Modern medical science has made it possible to combat many diseases. This is one reason that people are living longer lives now than they did in the past. Discuss the effects this might have on society.

Advancement in technology and dedication of scientist has made possible invention of medication and equipment to cure deadly disease known in the past, prolonging lives of human-being. There are positive and negative effects to this and will be detailed in this short essay.

Notwithstanding elder generation lives longer, it is noticeable, mid-age group has a tendency of giving birth at a later age. Elder generation possesses valuable experiences, passing their life-long knowledge to their grandchildren benefits society, imperilling mistake reoccurring, where business growth stronger. Further, people has the capability to work for a longer period of life, supporting the growth of economy. For example, Mr. Lee Ka Sing of Hong Kong Sun Hung Kei group continue to be the Chief Executive of the company till 89 years of age, leading with vision, the company survived through number of financial crisis and sustained the economy of Hong Kong

Conversely, the drawback of elderly with long-term illness and without contribution to the society, could in fact, be a burden. Modern medication is masking an increasing amount of illness over a longer lifespan. Moral is a key factor. In my own experience, my grandmother is at age of 92, has suffered over 10 years of heart and aspiratory sickness. Pollution has cause her difficult to breathing, however, machinery and medication were able to soothe her illness. Common to most healthcare system around the globe, shortage of staff in hospital has an impact in providing high quality medical care to patient at all age. The mental health of doctors and nurses has long been a source of controversy, impacting patient and families’ confidence to these professions.

In no doubt, modern medical science benefits significantly in curing deadly disease normally seen in child and increasing the life expectancy of people. Necessary solution would be required to resolve the imbalance of medical staff and number of patient and eliminate the risk of reduced confidence in medical care.