Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

An increasing trend of remote working is seen with the advancement in technology including laptops and cloud-technology (storage data online) and has become a controversial business condition. The positive and negative impacts focused on full-time staff will be discussed in this short essay.

Number of benefits are demonstrated with enabling employees to work from home promoting mental healthiness and work-life balance. Time to time being away from a highly pressurised working environment, reducing stress level, could improve the productivity of the individuals. Further, this has a significant advantage to people with family of young children, allowing the flexibility to be around their young ones when needed at school or when they fall sick, yet, able to put in some working hours to maintain a steady income.

On the other hand, the shortfall of remote working in a team environment, would be lack of face-to-face communication and inability to obtain a prompt response. This causes uncertainty of work being resolved in a delayed manner and accountability over the piece of work. Moreover, security of documents could be of a concern. Moving around different places with hard copies documents or working on highly confidential documents through an non-secure network, poses high risk of leaking information to unnecessary people and cyber security attack, all these will diminish the corporate image and brand.

Overall, company with clear communication strategy put in place and educating staff with security awareness and to take own responsibility ensuring information are kept safely, the advantages of working from home on in-frequent basis outweighs the disadvantages.