Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does.

Do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology over the years, the mean of learning has not been restricted to attending physical classes but the ability to gain new skillsets through distance-learning such as webinars through the internet. This type of learning style is modern phenonium. The benefits and disadvantages of distance-learnings have been a controversial decision for students. In the following paragraphs, I shall discuss whether distance-learnings could provide the same level of experience as attending colleges through my own experience.

Without a doubt, distance-learning style provides key flexibility to one’s learning schedule, at own pace and could schedule the learning around work hours. This elasticity of on-line learning provides an opportunity for working-class to upskills anytime anywhere. On the other hand, distance-learning requires significant self-control and learning. The learning progress is a lone activity in compare to attending physical lectures. It provides less opportunity for students to pose questions and gain clarification on materials that are in doubt. Secondly, the opportunity to communicate with like-minded people are minimised.

Moreover, colleges and universities provide a whole full experience of learning theoretical knowledge and applying the knowledge through practical tasks. As an example, when I attended university, the engineering degree provides workshops to help with understanding the cognitive knowledge gained. Lecturers also provide immediate guidance and clarity, modifying the content of the lecture to suit the students.

It is in my opinion, both learning styles have benefits where the other lacks. I believe that at different stage of life, a learning style suitable for the person should be adopted. The decision to attend physical lectures or self-paced online learning style is a convoluted decision.