More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Undoubtedly, a cultural change has shifted the current generation to consider having children at a later age when compare to the past. In this short essay, the advantage and disadvantage of having children at a later age of female will be discussed.

There are some predominant reasons for this. To begin with, female born in the 80s and 90s, are provided with equal opportunities as males. Educations are provided to female compared to the past which lead to independent thinking. Further, younger generations on average are getting married at a later age to that of previous generations. This is mainly due to young generations start their career in their 20s and are more focus on their career progression, leaving the decision to form a family in their 30s. The economy of nowadays play a key role in such decision. There is a research in Hong Kong that at least 4 million Hong Kong dollars are required to raise a child nowadays. Many will fear of not able to provide a good living standard to their children. Leaving the decision to have children once they are financially stable. Financially stable family could provide good living standard and educate the children to be a model citizen is one of the most beneficial advantage of having children at a later age.

On the downside, the most clinical outcome that is noticeable, is the trend of couples struggling to become parents once they decide to form a family. Infertility rate amongst couple in the past has increased. Growth in technology has seen people are living a longer life. There is currently a growing imbalance of aged people against young children. Yet there’s also technological developments have been seen in helping couples to be fertile and form a family at later age. Therefore, the social impact could not be fully identified of having children at later age.

To summarise, it could not be determined the social impact of parents having children at a later age. Couples nowadays has the opportunity to live their desire live whether it is to pursue their careers or forming a family.