Many museums charge for admission while others are free Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages

It has become more common for museums to charge an entry fee from visitors. In my opinion, the benefits of this practice outweigh the disadvantages.

When museums charge a fee for entry, they can offer better facilities to their visitors. For example, they can hire more people to provide warmer and more considerate services to tourists. They can hire more knowledgeable guides who can provide accurate information about the pieces on display. They can even hire people to babysit for couples who want to enjoy the museum without getting disturbed by the commotion created by their babies. In addition, they can invest in wheelchairs for differently enabled people. Obviously, there are clear benefits to charging an entry fee.

Furthermore, the income from the sale of tickets is more stable than the donations received from patrons. Museums that offer free entry depend entirely on the measly funds provided by the government. Consequently, they cannot maintain the museum properly. This actually leads to a fall in the number of visitors. That means even if entry is the fee, few people will want to visit the museums. By contrast, tourists will throng museums with state-of-the-art facilities even if there is an entry fee. Of course, the most famous museums in the world all charge a fee from visitors.

To sum up, there are more advantages than disadvantages to charging an entry fee from visitors. Of course, the cost of visiting a museum will increase if there is an entry fee, but most people will still be able to afford them. With the entry fee collected from visitors, museums can provide better experience, which will encourage more and more people to pay a visit.