Many nations like to host international sporting events, but people are against it. Describe both views and give our own opinion.

The most popular and awaited global sporting competition nowadays is the Olympic Games. Many countries dream to organise it, while some citizens believe that it might bring more problems than benefits. I completely disagree that the disadvantages can outweigh the advantages of hosting an event of such scale.

The biggest problem of all international events is its funding. The actual cost is often underestimated by the government leading to multi-million-dollar deficiencies. For example, Greece learnt the lesson the hard way, being left with the approximately 40-million-dollar debt after carrying out the Olympics in 2004. In many countries, almost all facilities, specially built for the event, are usually abandoned and unused due to the lack of funds to maintain them. As a result, citizens are the ones who suffer the most because of increased taxes and lower budget allocated for welfare, educational and social programmes.

However, despite all the demerits I believe there are much more evident merits. Such international contests attract many sponsors, investors, and simple spectators, thus boosting the economy and tourism of the hosting country. Organising such event in your own city facilitates to gain respect and to be remembered for decades, while adding honour and prestige to the whole country. As a consequence, the nation flourishes and establishes itself on the international arena.

In conclusion, although the global sporting competitions tighten the country's budget I think we should be proud to host such events because they promote our country globally and bring positive impact in many areas.