Many newspapers and magazines feature stories about the private lives of famous people. We know what they eat, where they buy their clothes and who they love. We also often see pictures of them in private situations.

Is it appropriate for a magazine or newspaper to give this kind of private information about people?

Media these days publish personal lives of renowned personalities. Some say it is fair on their part to give such news, however, I argue that too much of exposure of their private life is not necessary.

On the one hand, as these eminent people have a huge fan following, it becomes imperative on the part of followers to know about their well-being. Moreover the general public is very keen to know about the lifestyle of their role models. In this situation, they resort to newspapers and magazines so as to have an insight into the life of a superstar. However, media takes advantage of this eagerness of people and publish more than what is required.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that these famous people also need space. For instance, wedding is a private affair. Covering their marriage ceremony or for that matter a detailed view of their home, fitness center, holiday destination will only but a hindrance in their lives. Subsequently, these people will always be conscious in their efforts and portray a good image of themselves.

Following, over advertising can also have a negative effect on the economic status of middle class people. They tend to spend more than their purchasing power as a means to look alike their famous icon. Albeit, in order to have a lifestyle modification, they may spend more on designer clothes, visiting expensive hotels or holidaying abroad to name a few.

To recapitulate, newspapers and magazines should shift their focus on more important matters which require attention. However, publicity upto a certain limit is fine as excess of everything is bad.