Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that malefactors who used to serve a jail sentence have a strong tendency to be charged with another crime. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted to solve the problem.

There are two primary causes of offenders re-committing crimes. To begin with, criminal records act as a deterrent to prisoners re-assimilating into society and finding a job to live by. As a matter of course, employers don’t place much trust in their quality and working competence to take a risk of creating job opportunities, which makes them have no option but to make money illegally and re-offend. Moreover, it would be much more rewarding and attractive for prisoners to make a quick profit rather than look in vain for a good job. Drug trading, which could bring in a huge amount of money for a short time, is a case in point.

However, there are various steps that employers and the government could take to tackle the problem. Firstly, heads of companies should gradually change attitudes towards them and therefore generate more employment. Entrepreneurs could collaborate with the authority to offer criminals vocational training schemes in different fields, especially computer skills. Secondly, it’s obligatory that the government crack down much harder on crime. For instance, wrongdoers serving the second punishment have to face more severe sentences, which could be even death penalty.

To summarize, the issue of re-offending witnessed in prisoners mainly stems from people’s extreme prejudgment against them and the appeal of illegal money making. The government and employers should cooperate in providing decent jobs and thorough vocational education so that they can make a fresh start after being released from prison.