Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals commit many offences after release from the punishment of first crime. This is because of the lack of rehabilitation within the jail and the lack of employment opportunities after release. This essay will illustrate solutions to deal with these kinds of issues.

Firstly, criminals often do not undergo through proper rehabilitation within the jails and they are released only by serving their term. In other words, jail authorities do not make them realise how bad it is to commit a crime. Therefore, lack of self-realisation, re-motivate them towards crime. Secondly, the lack of career opportunities is another reason why they re-offend. Moreover, after all, they are human beings and they have a family to take care of, thus, in order to fulfil the basic necessities of life without any source of income, they choose unethical approaches. To illustrate, FBI reports stated that more than 60% of delinquents re-offended crimes within a year after serving the jail term, due to financial crisis.

There are two effective solutions to inculcate the quality of self-introspection among offenders. Primarily, there should be either proper skills training for criminals within the jails or some personal development training to change the minds of lawbreakers. By doing this, we can alleviate the problem effectively. Another method of dealing with these menaces is to maintain proper check of their activities after release. Also, we can closely watch them and take the immediate step if they try to choose the wrong way again. For instance, the government of Sweden recently took different rehabilitation measures and implemented a need-based strategy to train human resources within jails. As a result, crime rates are reducing 10% annually within the country.

To conclude, although acquiring a normal life is a big hurdle for the person released from jail owing to fewer job opportunities, this issue can be resolved by providing skill-based training and proper monitoring of activities of the offenders. Henceforth, crime rates will significantly reduce after the proper implementation of these measures.