Some people think that THE MAIN PURPOSE of SCHOOL is to turn children to good citizens and workers, rather than benefit them as individuals.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that school education plays a significant role in establishing a child's bright career and character. While some people assert that the primary aim of this should be transforming students to responsible citizens and dedicated workers instead of focusing individual's talent and behaviour, I completely disagree with this notion.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons to support my view that concentrating on unique talents and characters of different students is quintessential. First and foremost is that monitoring and understanding the individuality of every child help to discover their personality, which, in turn, transform them into responsible citizens. This is because each child is blessed with a varied behaviour some can be short-tempered and some patient, some conserved and some friendly, therefore, it is necessary to look after every trait and educate them accordingly in order to make them capable to deal with the society. For instance, in the USA, students in Kindergarten are assigned with teachers according to their behavioural aspect in order to understand them completely and to help them to become a mature person.

Secondly, my opinion is further bolstered by the factor that a focus on an individual's skill and talent is essential to provide them with a bright career. The reason for this is opting a profession of one's own interest usually lead to success and satisfaction as complete dedication and passion are generally involved in this. For example, with reference to the statistics of 'The Time', 70% of the successful people in the world are the ones who followed their innate talents. In contrast, if the purpose of teaching will only involve turning students to qualified doctors, engineers and bankers, then their inner skills will gradually vanish.

In conclusion, although academic education aims at nurturing the child with good manners and moulding them to skilled professional, in my perspective, focusing on the characters and skills of every student not only help to discover their unique personality but also tread their paths to successful careers.